OWS Hatred of Law Enforcement

Discussion in 'Political Opinions & Beliefs' started by Puroburos, Oct 15, 2011.

1. Puroburos

Puroburos New Member

Let me preface this by saying that I am a police officer and I fully support the OWS protests. I'm a liberal democrat, I make only about $24,000 a year (which is below the poverty line here), and I agree with the sentiments of OWS.

However, all the hatred toward law enforcement is starting to (*)(*)(*)(*) me off.

It is every American's right to peacefully protest. What OWS has started doing is not peaceful or orderly.
    -Disorderly conduct is against the law.
    -Threatening a police officer is against the law.
    -Spitting on a police officer (or placing any other bodily fluid) is a felony in most states.
    -Blocking the street is against the law.
    -Littering and accumulation of trash and debris is against most city ordinances.

If the OWS protesters want to be taken seriously, they have to at least make an attempt to obey the law. Police officers, for the most part, are lower-middle class citizens who would sympathize with the protesters so much more if they didn't make such an attempt to demonize them.

We have a job to do. It is our job to keep the peace. None of us want to have to arrest any protester, but if you choose to break the law, you leave us little choice.

2. hoytmonger

hoytmonger New Member

Police are state muscle to be feared and loathed... and resisted.

3. leftlegmoderate

leftlegmoderate New Member

With a view like this, confrontation is inevitable. You know, the same police officer you fear, loath, and resist would put their life on the line for you should the situation require it.

Police literally face death everyday for the sake of societal stability. They deserve respect and support. Sure you'll find some corrupt or unfit officers, but they're the exception.

4. Puroburos

Puroburos New Member

Correction, police are extremely low-paid state muscle.