Question About Illegal Immigration

Discussion in 'Immigration' started by Brock, Dec 25, 2011.

1. Brock

Brock New Member

I live in Tennessee, and from what I have seen, their have been a lot of arguments over illegal immigration, that seem to be more about doing things that find & capture illegal immigrants then illegal immigration itself.

Why do people get upset when a state tries to require people to show I.D. to vote? http://m.host.madison.com/mobile/article_cb347812-259f-11e1-8151-001871e3ce6c.html

I do not understand, if your a citizen, you have a I.D. I would think. I have multiple I.D.'s and I am just a random farmer. I don't understand why people are against this. Same with having children's origins known, such as their parents. Why is this wrong? It makes no sense to me, their just trying to catch people who are here illegally.

2. LeConservateur

LeConservateur New Member

I know. It makes no sense. Only citizens have the right to vote and yet people are not required to prove citizenship before voting.

The civil libertarians are quick to issue dire warnings about what happened in the Jim Crow south, when African Americans were required to pass literacy tests in order to vote. Obviously it's not the same thing. Illegal immigration is everyone's problem, including workers at polling stations. We should all be involved in trying to stop it, including people at polling stations.

In Canada, your name is put on a list of electors when you turn 18 or when you become a Canadian citizen. When you go the polling place, you bring one form of ID and the worker there compares your name to the list of electors. If your name's not there, you don't vote. There is no outcry about citizens being disenfranchised, and no illegal immigrant voting problem.

3. Brock

Brock New Member