Musicians on Political Forum?

Discussion in 'Music, TV, Movies & other Media' started by Jazzerman, Mar 15, 2012.

1. Jazzerman

Jazzerman New Member

Being fairly new here, I haven't seen a topic on this yet. I'm just curious how many people on here are musicians, either amateur or professional. It's always nice to make a connection with fellow musicians, so tell everyone what music you play, what instrument(s), how long, who your influences are, etc. etc. I'll start...

I've been a Jazz guitarist for right about 20 years (I'm 31 now). I play other instruments, but the guitar has always been my main focus. I'm into Free Form Jazz, Avant Garde, Swing, Gypsy Jazz...really all types of Jazz...but concentrate more on Free Form and Gypsy Jazz. I do fiddle around with other types of music and have always loved traditional African music...Malian, Polyrhythmic drums, soukous, rumba, etc. Although I hate to admit it, I also do like modern pop music such as Lady Gaga :confuse: ...I know, I'll crawl back into my hole now.

My main influences would be people like Django Reinhardt, Ornette Coleman, Roland Kirk, Albert Ayler, Ali Farka Toure, Peter Brotzmann, Derek Bailey, and Don Cherry.

2. ronmatt

ronmatt New Member

[ame="http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pAQ9aP0TuQw&feature=related"]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pAQ9aP0TuQw&feature=related[/ame]Keyboards here....jazz, experimental and traditional. I try to sound like Ahmad Jamal...have been for a century. I'm about his age. I'm banging on a Yamaha YPG 235 and an old, old Moog Synth. I just gig with friends now, mostly blues stuff, they try doing some middle period jazz every now and then...but it comes out more like fusion...way to electronic and digital.

3. youenjoyme420

youenjoyme420 New Member

Decent guitar player and bassist (more so electric, but I tried stand up for a while). Have some training with drums and cello, and I've attempted producing electronic music, but I suck at it.

4. gophangover