I work for a DoD contractor. And I feel like my job is a waste.

Discussion in 'Warfare / Military' started by airhero, Jul 27, 2016.

1. airhero

airhero New Member

I'm a recent college grad who works for one of the top contractors of the US Department of Defense. My job is such that I'm always jumping from program to program performing a number of different tasks. They pay me well, which is nice, but I feel like it's a waste of the government's, and therefore the peoples', money.

The problem is I have an issue with the way work is done around here. I feel like we are given an extraordinarily high budget for almost every single task. For example, I was given a 360 hour budget for a task that only took me 80 hours. Furthermore, I feel like we are implicitly discouraged to go under budget. A little under budget is fine, and preferable to appease program managers and the government, but a lot under budget is a huge no-no. The problem is, I finish everything wayyy early, and spend the rest of the time checking the work I've done to beyond an exhaustive level and I've also found myself milking my hours so that I don't finish my projects so early anymore.

Anyway, the reason I'm fed up now is because work is slow on my team at the moment and will be for about another week and a half. It's so slow that I'm doing some work for a different team in a different department, and I was assigned a simple number-crunching task that the other team's leader said should take about two weeks--and I finished it in THREE HOURS! This was a task without much grey area. You just do the calculations, look it over to make sure it's all good, and you're done. Also, it's a task that is performed semi-frequently and it would take about 30 minutes for a good programmer to write a program that would do the task in half a second.